2021 Presidential Awards Recipients

June 7, 2021

Dear Colleagues:

It is my pleasure to announce the 2021 honorees for the Presidential Seminar Award and the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities, Excellence in Teaching, and Excellence in Service.  These awards are given annually to faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding performance in scholarship, outstanding performance in teaching, or outstanding performance in service.  

Presidential Seminar Award

Dr. Sarah R. Fritts, Department of Biology

Dr. Sarah R. Fritts is being recognized for her superlative scholarship, research activities, and current contributions to her discipline.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities

Professor/Associate Professor rank
Mr. Cyrus Cassells III, Department of English

Assistant Professor/Lecturer rank
Dr. Sean B. Justice, School of Art and Design

Mr. Cassells and Dr. Justice have made significant contributions to their disciplines and to the intellectual life of Texas State University.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Professor/Associate Professor rank
Dr. Michael B. Devlin, School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Assistant Professor rank
Dr. Nicole C. Wagner, Department of Agricultural Sciences

Senior Lecturer/Lecturer rank
Dr. Brian J. Cooper, Department of Geography

Drs. Devlin, Wagner, and Cooper have shown an outstanding ability to make teaching and learning an exciting experience.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Service

Professor/Associate Professor rank
Dr. Duane V. Knudson, Department of Health and Human Performance

Assistant Professor/Lecturer rank
Dr. Joshua J. Daspit, Department of Management

Drs. Knudson and Daspit are being recognized for their superior service to the University, their profession, and the community.

A selection committee composed of faculty and students reviewed nominees for each award.  These selection committees worked very hard, and I would like to extend my thanks to the committee members.  The awards will be formally presented at the University Convocation and Annual General Faculty meeting on Friday, August 20, 2021, at 9:00 a.m., in Strahan Arena in the University Events Center.  

I know all of you will join me in extending congratulations to our 2021 honorees.


Denise M. Trauth