2022 Presidential Awards Recipients

June 21, 2022

Dear Colleagues:

It is my pleasure to announce the 2022 honorees for the Presidential Seminar Award and the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities, Excellence in Teaching, and Excellence in Service.  These awards are given annually to faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding performance in scholarship, outstanding performance in teaching, or outstanding performance in service. 

Presidential Seminar Award

Dr. Hiroaki Tanaka, Department of Mathematics

Dr. Hiroaki Tanaka is being recognized for his superlative scholarship, research activities, and current contributions to his discipline.


Presidential Awards for Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities

Professor/Associate Professor rank
Dr. Craig M. Johnson, School of Music

Assistant Professor/Senior Lecturer/Lecturer rank
Dr. Ryan G. Anderson, Department of Agricultural Sciences

Drs. Johnson and Anderson have made significant contributions to their disciplines and to the intellectual life of Texas State University.


Presidential Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Professor/Associate Professor rank
Dr. Catherine A. Cherrstrom, Department of Organization, Workforce, and Leadership Studies

Assistant Professor rank
Dr. Joshua H. Miller, Department of Communication Studies

Senior Lecturer/Lecturer rank
Mr. Jonathan T. Zmikly, School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Dr. Cherrstrom, Dr.  Miller, and Mr. Zmikly have shown an outstanding ability to make teaching and learning an exciting experience.


Presidential Awards for Excellence in Service

Professor/Associate Professor rank
Dr. Barbara A. Hewitt, Department of Health Information Management

Assistant Professor/Senior Lecturer/Lecturer rank
Ms. Vlasta L. Silhavy, Department of Theatre and Dance

Dr. Hewitt and Ms. Silhavy are being recognized for their superior service to the University, their profession, and the community.

A selection committee composed of faculty and students reviewed nominees for each award.  These selection committees worked very hard, and I would like to extend my thanks to the committee members.  The awards will be formally presented at the University Convocation and Annual General Faculty meeting on Friday, August 19, 2022, at 9:00 a.m., in Strahan Arena in the University Events Center. 

I know all of you will join me in extending congratulations to our 2022 honorees.

Denise M. Trauth