Skip to Content
Texas State University

Naming Task Force

composite photo of two buildings

The deadline to submit nominations passed on December 31, 2020. Texas State is no longer accepting nominations. Thank you.

Disponible en Español

In the spirit of inclusiveness and celebration, and recognizing the significant contributions to Texas State University of distinguished individuals from the Hispanic/Latina/o/x and Black communities, a Naming Task Force has been established by President Denise M. Trauth and co-chaired by Dr. Scott Bowman, Associate Professor in the School of Criminal Justice and Criminology and Special Assistant to the Provost for Inclusion and Diversity, and Dr. Gloria Martinez, Professor in the Department of Sociology, Director of the Center for Diversity and Gender Studies, and Director of the Latina/o/x Studies Minor.   

The purpose of the Naming Task Force is to establish an inclusive process through which our university community can engage in the renaming of two residence halls -- Angelina and San Gabriel located on the San Marcos Campus -- and the naming of two unnamed streets on the Round Rock Campus after distinguished members of the Texas State family who are no longer employed or enrolled at Texas State, and who are from the Black and Hispanic/Latina/o/x communities.

If you have any questions regarding the nomination committee or process, please contact Dr. Scott Bowman at or Dr. Gloria Martinez at