Texas State University Logo
Banner Image
Office of the President
Dr. Denise M. Trauth, President
J. C. Kellam, 10th Floor
Phone: 512.245.2121

Helpful Links


Related Sites

Join the Conversation

adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

President's Office

As President of Texas State University, Denise M. Trauth oversees all aspects of university operations. She works closely with the vice presidents and the deans of the 10 colleges that make up the university: Applied Arts, McCoy College of Business Administration, Education, Fine Arts and Communication, Health Professions, Honors CollegeLiberal Arts, Science and Engineering, University College, and The Graduate College. The colleges encompass 33 departments and 2 programs headed by a chair, in addition to 9 schools headed by a director.

Texas State University is part of The Texas State University System, established in 1911 by the Texas Legislature to consolidate the support and management of teacher colleges in Texas. Since that time, the system has evolved into a network stretching from the Texas-Louisiana border to the Big Bend region of West Texas, serving nearly 80,000 students. Other universities in the system include Sam Houston State University, Lamar University and Sul Ross State University. Member institutions in the system offer a broad range of academic and career opportunities.

The system is governed by a nine-member Board of Regents, appointed by the governor of Texas with the advice and consent of the Texas Senate. System Chancellor Brian McCall heads the administrative staff from system headquarters in Austin, coordinating central activities and support for the various system institutions. The Board of Regents is vested with the power to organize, control, and manage the system through the authority of the Texas Legislature.

As the ninth president of the university, President Trauth continues a proud tradition dating back to Thomas G. Harris, who assumed office as the first president of the then-named Southwest Texas State Normal School. For more information regarding past University presidents, click here.

To contact the Office of the President, please address all correspondence to Denise M. Trauth, President, Texas State University, 601 University Drive, San Marcos, TX 78666. You may also contact the Office of the President via e-mail at president@txstate.edu or by phone at 512.245.2121.

To schedule meetings or for other assistance, contact:

Mary Ann Mendoza
Executive Assistant to the President

Tamara Alejandro
Senior Administrative Assistant